OWI With A Minor Passenger | Wisconsin OWI Defense
OWI with a Minor Passenger? What To Expect Under Wisconsin Law
Receiving an OWI for the first time in Wisconsin is a civil crime unless a passenger under 16 years of age is in the vehicle at the time. In that case, it becomes a criminal offense. To no surprise, the penalties for this offense are severe.
Penalties for OWI with a Minor in the Vehicle
Recent changes by the state legislature have increased the fines and penalties associated with impaired driving offenses, including those with a minor passenger. If you receive an OWI with a minor in the vehicle at the time, you will be charged with a crime. Convictions for this crime include as much as 6 months in jail, fines as high as $1,100, and loss of your driver’s license for as long as 18 months.
If anyone is injured while the driver was operating the vehicle with a minor passenger or if the driver has previous convictions, fines and penalties increase and the crime becomes a Class H felony. Class H felonies in Wisconsin can result in much as 6 years imprisonment and as much as $10,000 in fines.
Hire a Wisconsin Defense Attorney if You are Facing Charges
The repercussions of a conviction for intoxicated driving with a minor passenger are extremely serious. Do not leave your defense strategy to chance. Contact an experienced OWI attorney immediately if you are facing such charges.
Make your first call to Eisenberg Law Offices. Our attorneys have decades of experience handling drunk driving cases and can help protect your driving record and freedom.
Call 608-256-8356 or email our offices at email@example.com to schedule a free consultation.