Battery Charges | Wisconsin Battery Definition
What to Expect When Facing Battery Charges in Wisconsin
Battery charges are a severe matter in Wisconsin. The state classifies battery as a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the severity of the harm to the injured party. Even the lightest charge, simple battery, is a Class A misdemeanor and carries fines of up to $10,000 and 9 months in jail.
The State of Wisconsin defines simple battery as: “Whoever causes bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bodily harm to that person or another without the consent of the person so harmed is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.”
Battery includes far more than punching another person. You may face battery charges in Wisconsin if you do any of the following to another person:
Domestic Battery Vs. Non-Domestic Battery
Many battery charges stem from domestic situations and the state treats these situations differently than non-domestic battery. If you are charged with domestic battery, there is a high likelihood you will be going to jail right away. If the charge is only a misdemeanor, you will be able to post bail that day. If you are charged with a felony or cannot post bail, you will remain in jail until you see a judge who will set your bond.
In non-domestic battery situations, you may not be arrested, but you will be issued a misdemeanor citation. This citation is not a regular ticket. It is a criminal charge and it will include a court date at which you or your legal counsel must appear. If you do not attend the court date, a warrant will be issued for your arrest.
No Contact Orders
In both situations, you may receive a “no-contact” order from the arresting officer. This prevents you from having any contact with the person listed on the form for a specified amount of time. Any violation of this order is considered a separate offense. In domestic situations, this may mean that you cannot go home and the burden of maintaining the separation is 100% your responsibility. This can create a very difficult living situation for the accused.
If there is a chance that a no-contact order will be issued at the bond hearing, you will want to have a criminal defense attorney representing you to help you put up a strong defense and minimize the restrictions placed on you.
This initial appearance is very important to your case since this is where you will hear the charges against you in their entirety, the facts of the case if a no-contact order is going to be given, and what your bond amount will be and any conditions associated with the bond.
Don’t Face Battery Charges Alone
It can be very risky to face battery charges without legal counsel representing you. You’re more likely to receive higher bond amounts, more strict bond conditions, and even more severe charges. Don’t let that happen to you. Contact the criminal defense attorneys at Eisenberg Law Offices in Madison, Wisconsin for advice and representation. We offer free consultations to help you understand your situation and explore your legal options.
Call 608-256-8356 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange your free case consultation before your hearing.
RECENT CASE RESULTS
Eisenberg Law has successfully represented our clients in thousands of Personal Injury, Criminal Defense and Family Law Cases during our 30-plus years in business.
RECENT BLOG POSTS
- 6 Facts About Wisconsin Personal Injury Law | Eisenberg Law
- Example Of Unlawful OWI Stops In Wisconsin
- Wisconsin Car Crash Statute of Limitations Is Three Years
- Ignition Interlock Device | OWI in Wisconsin
- Q And A With A Wisconsin Car Accident Lawyer
- Getting A Second Option For Car Accident Injuries