Criminal Defense Of A Sexual Assault Charge In WI
Contacting A Criminal Defense Attorney Is The First Step In Defending Against A Sexual Assault Charge
Sexual assault charges have always carried with them a heavy stigma, even if they turn out to be untrue. In addition to damaging a reputation, such charges come with hefty fines and penalties. Even worse, long-term consequences that can persist even after the matter has been settled and punishments completed.
If convicted on a sexual assault charge in Wisconsin, you’ll be required to register as a sex offender, spend some time in jail, and pay large fines. That’s why the very first thing you should do if you are charged with a sex crime is contact a criminal defense attorney. Contacting an attorney is vital, regardless of whether the charges are true or not. If true, an attorney can help you build a strong defense that minimizes the long-term consequences of a conviction. If untrue, it is even more important to have an experienced attorney on your side, defending your good name and protecting your rights.
Sexual Assault Penalties
Sexual assault is a felony under Wisconsin statute 940.225. The law protects strangers, peers and spouses; charges remain the same regardless of the relationship between the victim and assailant.
- 1st Degree Sexual Assault. This charge covers sexual contact or intercourse that occurs without consent and results in pregnancy and/or great bodily harm. It also includes threats of violence with or without a deadly weapon. 1st Degree Sexual Assault is a Class B felony and carries a prison term of up to 60 years.
- 2nd Degree Sexual Assault. 2nd Degree charges are imposed when there was nonconsensual sexual contact or intercourse that results in moderate injury, illness, or mental harm. This includes sexual contact with anyone who is incapable of giving consent and includes instances of assault by specialized caregivers. 2nd Degree Sexual Assault is a Class C felony, carrying fines of up to $100,000 and/or up to 40 years in prison.
- 3rd Degree Sexual Assault. This includes sexual intercourse or contact without consent and is a Class G felony. Fines of up to $25,000 and/or up to ten years in prison are possible.
- 4th Degree Sexual Assault. This includes sexual contact without consent and is a Class A misdemeanor. Fines of up to $10,000, nine months in jail, or both, are possible.
Build A Strong Defense With Help From An Eisenberg Law Criminal Defense Attorney
In most cases, convictions center on whether or not consent was obtained before the sex act was performed. A criminal defense attorney will likely build a defense centered around the question of consent and what constitutes refusal. This makes sex crime cases complex and complicated. With consequences as severe and far-reaching as they are, building a proper defense is crucial to securing the best possible outcome for your future.
If you or a loved one are facing sex charges in Wisconsin, contact the criminal defense team at Eisenberg Law Offices in Madison, WI for help. We will explore all available defense options, advise you of your options and the likely outcomes, and advocate aggressively on your behalf to obtain the most favorable outcome possible.
Contact the criminal defense lawyers at Eisenberg Law Offices by calling 608-256-8356 or emailing Info@eisenberglaw.org to arrange a free, confidential consultation.
RECENT CASE RESULTS
Eisenberg Law has successfully represented our clients in thousands of Personal Injury, Criminal Defense and Family Law Cases during our 30-plus years in business.
RECENT BLOG POSTS
- 6 Facts About Wisconsin Personal Injury Law | Eisenberg Law
- Example Of Unlawful OWI Stops In Wisconsin
- Wisconsin Car Crash Statute of Limitations Is Three Years
- Ignition Interlock Device | OWI in Wisconsin
- Q And A With A Wisconsin Car Accident Lawyer
- Getting A Second Option For Car Accident Injuries