How Domestic Violence Reports Affect You
Domestic violence charges can greatly impact your life
Wisconsin takes reports of domestic violence very seriously. If you have been charged with domestic abuse, you face significant consequences. Conviction of domestic violence can bring severe punishment, including the loss of possession of firearms. You should contact an attorney right away if you know someone has filed a report on you.
Wisconsin law defines domestic violence as either inflicting pain, injury or illness, or causing someone fear of your doing so. If someone files a report against you, and the police officers sent to the scene have a “reasonable belief” that continued abuse is likely, they will arrest you for domestic violence.
Surrender Your Firearms
If a restraining order is issued against you, you will also give up your right to possess firearms. That remains in place for as long as the restraining order is in effect. If you are convicted on domestic violence charges, you may have to surrender your firearms altogether.
Once you are arrested, a 72-hour order is issued to prevent you from contacting the alleged victim or going to that person’s residence. If there is a dispute you want to try to work out with the reporter of the crime, even if you are released from jail, you are unable to do so during that time.
Lingering on Your Record
Finally, even if you are not arrested, having someone report you for domestic violence remains with you for a long time. Under Wisconsin law, just the report of domestic violence remains on your record for 10 years. If you are later accused of domestic violence again, the prosecutor may be able to use the prior report against you.
With the consequences you face, you should contact an attorney as soon as someone reports you for domestic violence. If you have been reported or charged, contact Eisenberg Law Offices at https://eisenberglaw2.wpengine.com/contact-us/ or at (608)256-8356. We will give you the experienced representation you need.